The Hits Just Keep On Coming!

As if today’s comic geek news couldn’t get any better, Disney has announced that they’ll be releasing the 1990s X-Men cartoon on DVD this Spring! This was the series that got me interested in Marvel comics all those years ago (followed quickly by the FOX Spider-Man animated series), and is in many ways how I will always think of the characters.  Much as I love actors like Scott McNeill and Hugh Jackman, I’ll always imagine Wolverine speaking with Cal Dodd’s characteristic raspy gruffness.   It will be interesting to see how well the show has held up over time, especially from a visual standpoint, but I honestly cannot imagine being disappointed by this release.  It’s a good thing they’re putting it out on a new format, too, because I’m pretty sure I wore out my old Pizza Hut episode tapes (remember that promotion? I think it was the last time I went to a Pizza Hut, back in ’94.)

3 Responses

  1. I loved that series! I can’t even begin to tell you how upset I was at the Wolverine and the X-Men series they recently premiered on Nicktoons or ToonDisney or one of those channels. It was nowhere near as high quality as this one.

  2. So the new one isn’t any good, then? I’m sad to hear that. It was developed by one of the currently big X-book writers (Christopher Yost, who helped make Dust into a more developed and interesting character.)
    I’d heard that X-Men: Evolution got better as it continued, but the pilot did such an embarrassing job of neutering Wolverine that I couldn’t bear to watch it, even though he was voiced by one of my all-time favorite voice actors, Scott McNeill.

  3. Aw! I actually really liked X-Men: Evolution; not as much as I liked the one above, but I thought it was really well done.

    And maybe Wolverine and The X-Men gets better as it goes along. Part of my problem with it is that although I like Wolverine, he isn’t my favorite X-Man. And I like the team aspect of the X-Men, so having one character so elevated above the others was going to annoy me no matter what.

Leave a Reply

