COMICS: John’s Wednesday Winners for 1/28/09

Hey, everybody!  It was a light week for me at the ol’ comics shop this week, so this will be a fairly short post.  Let’s get things started!

Runaways #6

Runaways #6

First up is Runaways #6, by Terry Moore and Humberto Ramos.  This issue concludes the opening storyline of the Runaways Vs. Karolina’s people, the Majesdanians (they’re aliens with glowing polychromatic light powers.) Moore’s arc thankfully finishes stronger than it began, and the book is once again approaching something resembling a good story.  There are some great jokes and action beats (such a VW bus expelling wasted fuel onto a bird.  Poetic justice!)  and the rift that had divided the Runaways is completely healed, despite the departure of one of the team’s members at the end of the issue.  Odds are that s/he’ll return before the end of the next arc anyway, which looks to be a clash between the Runaways and an evil Howard Stern-type shock jock with a hatred of superheroes. Ramos’s artwork continues to be a bit too cartoony for the series, something I had almost gotten used to until I flipped through my Vol. 1 hardcover again and was blown away by Adrian Alphona’s beautiful renditions of the characters.   If you’ve picked up the last five issues, this is a satisfying conclusion.  If not, I’d suggest you stick to the Vaughan or Whedon-penned issues.

Dallas #3

The Umbrella Academy: Dallas #3

The other new issue for this week is The Umbrella Academy: Dallas #3, by Gerard Way and Gabriel Ba.  Usually I write at length about how much I love the team of Ba and Stewart on art in this series, and that certainly continues to be true, but for once I was actually impressed with Gerard Way’s writing abilities.  As a middle issue of a story, #3 escalated tension and offered clues as to the dark secrets being kept by several characters.  Of particular note was Seance’s near-death experience, where he travels to a land devoid of color (which really helped me appreciate Ba’s work independent of Stewart’s) and meets a version of God that is all-too-reminiscent of Sam Elliot’s character in The Big Lebowski.  There are more fantastic scenes with Hazel and Cha-Cha, who are fast becoming the most quotable characters of the series.  I daresay I like their personalities more than the heroes’!  This issue is absolutely worth picking up if you have the first two, and it might even convince you to buy the first two if you haven’t already.  But then again, I have to remind myself that not everyone is as in love with Dave Stewart’s colors as I am…

Dogs of War #1

Atomic Robo: Dogs of War #1

Finally, a teaser of a review to come:  Unbeknownst to me, my local comic shop had finally gotten reorders of Atomic Robo: Dogs of War #1.  I flipped through the back issues on the offchance that I had missed it initially, and was thrilled to find that my collection of this story arc could now be completed!  Now I don’t have to wait for the TPB of Vol. 2 (as I did for vol. 1) to review the entire mini-series, so expect a review of it in the near future (as soon as I whittle down my to-review pile a bit.)

That’s all for this week’s comics, folks.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

